Elvis For Governor

Posted: 08/08/2010 by that's Elbert in election 2010, Elvis, Fun

The AP reports that Elvis is running for governor of Arkansas:

Elvis D. Presley of Star City filed papers with the secretary of state’s office on Wednesday to run as a write-in candidate for governor.

Presley indicated in the paperwork that he wants to “supply the people with a broader array of employment and newer chain of state government.”

Well, he’s not that Elvis but the AP story reports that this Elvis does do Elvis impersonations in his spare time.

Comments
  1. Howard says:

    I know Elvis is alive.

  2. Someone told me they saw him at Delmar Pizza 2 weeks ago.

  3. Frank Calio says:

    When I was State Election Commissioner, my secretary came in my office and said “Robert E. Lee is here and he wants to file for State Representative.” I though she was pulling my leg; she wasn’t.
    Remember Elvis who used to dress up and rode a bicycle on the boardwalk in O.C.? I saw him at Ocean Pines, still riding a bike, but dressed in civiliam clothes. I yelled, “Hi Elvis”, and he waved back. Last year he was working at a garden center at Ocean Pines.

  4. swampcritter2 says:

    That would be Boardwalk Elvis. I used to see him occasionally at the Sonspot church. He used to live in Showell, haven’t seen him lately. He must be getting on in years. Kinda of peculiar, but aren’t all Elvises?
    There was a Boardwalk Willie also. Used to sing just like Willie Nelson.