Moore Dope

Posted: 03/05/2010 by that's Elbert in crime, Laurel Delaware

Maurice Moore

Not Maurice Moore

Wednesday, March 3, 2010, officers with the Laurel Police Department stopped a car for an improper lane change. When the officers approached the car, they smelled the aroma of marijuana. During a search of the vehicle they discovered that the driver, 39 year old Maurice Moore, was carrying 11.5 pounds of the wacky weed in two 5 gallon buckets. The driver was arrested on several charges including trafficking marijuana, possession with the intent to deliver marijuana, 3 counts of possession of drug paraphernalia, and driving under the influence.

The Fruitland, MD resident told the officers he was traveling from New York to Salisbury, MD. It has been reported once before that traffickers use US RT13 as a corridor for their deliveries. Here’s another off the road and some more drugs off the street.

Comments
  1. How often do drivers get pulled over for improper lane changes? I would hate to be the little drug dealer explaining to the big drug dealer that I got busted for that.

  2. From some of the stories I’ve read, it seems that this is not uncommon. Pull someone over for something like a tail light out and end up with a drug arrest. Crazy.

  3. Kris says:

    To the writer of this story, I do not appreciate your last statement saying that he is another off the street. None of you know anything about this man and if you did you would know that since the economy downgrade he has lost 2 jobs due to the fact that the companies could not continue to have as many employees. He was only doing this to provide for his family!!! So before you go writing unnecessary statements get ALL of your accusation straight!!

  4. Kris, you wrote he is another off the street.

    What I actually wrote was Here’s another off the road, which is implied to be another trafficker off the road. Mr. Moore was charged with trafficking.

    If what you are reporting is true, then I certainly hope that all goes better with him and his family.

  5. Brian Shields says:

    Unfortunately in this economy people turn to the black market, whether the items be drugs or anything else, in order to maintain some cash flow.

    I know for a fact that two of my former employees have turned in that direction.

  6. swampcritter2 says:

    It wouldn’t be too hard to find out if this man has prior convictions. My guess would be Yes. I do feel sorry for the guy. IMO pot is a fairly innocuous drug, and also this country will never win the war on drugs. We can win a war on behavior, but I’m beginning to believe that winning that one will take an act of God.
    Now that I’ve said I feel sorry for the guy, I also feel he is a lazy fool, and stupid too. I know plenty of people in these hard times who are working two or more jobs to get by, and they’re succeeding. Their efforts far surpass this man’s. He opted for the easy way out.