Laurel PD Improves Communication With Community

Posted: 06/25/2009 by that's Elbert in Laurel, Laurel Delaware, police

The Laurel Police Department just issued this press release:


On July 1st 2009 The Laurel Police Department is launching a new Community Information Service designed to deliver important and timely information to residents in our area using the latest technology.

This service, created by Nixle, LLC delivers trustworthy and important neighborhood-level public safety and community event notifications by web, e-mail, and cell phone.

Residents of Laurel can now take advantage of Nixle! Nixle is a community information service that alerts you to public safety threats and community events via web, e-mail, and cell phone. Sign up at www.nixle.com to register.

Nixle is a new community information service provider built exclusively to provide secure and reliable communications. Its authenticated service connects municipal agencies and community organizations to residents in real time, delivering information to geographically targeted consumers over their cell phones (via text messages), through e-mails and through Web access.

For now, Laurel residents will be able to receive police-related information and municipal government information via Nixle. Channels providing other kinds of information are expected to be introduced in the future.

Craig Mitnick, the founder and CEO of Nixle, said Nixle differs from current services such as Facebook, MySpace and Twitter, which provide unauthenticated platforms for connections. Nixle solves that problem by providing a single standardized service for consumers to receive immediate and credible neighborhood-level public safety and community information.

“Nixle is a first-of-its-kind tool for communities that need to provide critical information to their residents,” said Craig Mitnick, founder and CEO.  “When it comes to public safety information, you have to trust the source. Residents of Laurel can rest easy that the local messages they receive are authentic.”


I signed up for the service ahead of time. It appears that this will be a good way to be aware of emergency situations.

UPDATE: I received an alert today on the system. It reported about the heat advisory. So far so good. Have you signed up yet?

Comments
  1. Erin J says:

    Just signed up. Apparently there was a drug arrest near my house a couple days ago. I’m debating about getting “Community Alerts” sent to my phone-like the arrest information. I am wondering if it will freak me out to get a text telling me there’s been an arrest. Thoughts?

  2. The alerts to my cell phone don’t bother me. I wish that you could only allow them to text during certain hours. My Twitter direct messages come to my phone but I have it set to only happen during a window that doesn’t include overnight. I got a text message Friday night sometime after 10, and it scared me to death! I just don’t like calls or text messages that late unless it is a medical emergency or something like that.