Andy Andrews’ The Noticer

Posted: 06/06/2009 by that's Elbert in books
Tags: ,

This is a review of the book “The Noticer” by Andy Andrews.

Andy Andrews’ book “The Noticer” was all about perspective. Andrews uses the story of a man who travels to a town to help its citizens find perspective on how they live their lives. He talks with several people who are at a crossroads in their lives, and in doing so he reveals to them that where they are is just a matter of perspective. In the story, the main character, Jones, helps many people find perspective in their lives by living their life in a better way. Jones helps Andy to find purpose in his life and to find a way to keep living, he helps a couple find a way back to each other, and Jones helps an older lady find purpose in her old age and to keep living instead of giving up. These are just a few of the people that Jones has helped throughout the story.

This book was the first time I have read anything by Andy Andrews. It is also the first time I’ve read anything which took the approach of story-telling to apply practical living advice, the type of advice you might find in a John Maxwell book. By using a story format, Andy Andrews kept my attention throughout the whole book. The author challenged me to think about how I look at things in my life. It enlightened me about the way that I see things and how I respond to the problems that I have. To see the words of Scripture, one can look at Jones’ conversation with Willow on pages 84-85. In that conversation, Jones points out that Willow’s reason to live is in that unfulfilled purpose for which she is destined. It reminds me of Jeremiah 29:11, where it states that God’s plans are to give us hope and a future. The information was presented in a manner that I could understand and could convey to other people. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

Comments are closed.