Mentally Challenged Man Attacked In Laurel

Posted: 04/06/2009 by that's Elbert in crime, Laurel, Laurel Delaware
Tags: ,

On Friday night Jeffrey Chambers, 18, of Bethel and two 17-year-old brothers from Laurel decided to attack a 31-year-old mentally challenged man in Laurel Village. The 31-year-old was walking home from his brother’s home when the young “men” decided to drag him into the woods and beat him, taking his wallet and keys.

The 31-year-old was found the next morning by his mother then taken to the hospital and treated for a concussion.

The attackers are being held on $20,000 bond, being charged with robbery, second-degree assault and second-degree conspiracy.

It’s terrible behavior beyond just being against the law. I don’t know much about the mentally challenged man, but I would guess he was seen as an easy target for them. Hopefully if they are found guilty they will receive the maximum penalty.

The news story is found here and here.

Comments
  1. Wow, Laurel Village isn’t known for being unsafe, either. I have never had any trouble going in there at any time.

    Sad.

  2. I saw this in the news when I woke up today. How sad. I hope he’s OK.