Random Thoughts #9

Posted: 02/22/2009 by that's Elbert in Joe Biden, Movies and TV, Music, radio, taxes
Tags: ,

I have a friend that says he is not black, he’s more mocha java. I am not kidding. (I found out after he said this that it’s a paraphrase from the movie Little Man)

Have you seen some of the modern rock stars covered in tattoos? I wonder how ugly every one of them will be when they are in their 70s and wrinkly.

Recently I have been in several local businesses where they are playing satellite radio. Why aren’t they playing something local?

It looks like I am writing a check to Uncle Sam for my income taxes. According to Joe Biden, it is patriotic to pay taxes. Am I more patriotic than some because I didn’t end up with a refund this year?

Comments
  1. Because local radio sucks and is chock full of nonstop commercials. Satellite radio has few, if any commercials n their music channels.

    I’ve been a Sirius subscriber since 2004 or 2005. One of the original 500,000 subscribers.

    Haven’t looked back.

  2. I have thought about satellite radio, but I’m not in the truck long enough to enjoy and don’t listen to the radio at home very often. I do listen to RadioU out of Columbus, OH on the Internet, usually in the morning. Once it’s on the air, I will probably be listening to WKNZ often, at least I had better considering I am on the advisory board. 🙂

  3. Joe says:

    I don’t think many people in their 70’s are quite attractive…tattooed or not.

  4. Michael says:

    Never gotten ink and have no desire to. I don’t find it particularly attractive on women either, but each to his or her own…my daughter has one on her ankle.

    Regarding radio, yeah local radio sometimes leaves a lot to be desired and there’s not much actual music in the morning anyway. But I think part of it as well is not wanting a competitor’s commercial broadcast in your place of business or something a patron would find offensive.

    As far as taxes go, having entered the scary world of estimated tax that interest-free loan I gave to Uncle Sam over 2008 may come in handy as I send it right back to them come April.