Krispy Kreme – I Hope It Never Happens

Posted: 02/13/2009 by that's Elbert in economy, food
Tags: ,

The US News & World Report published an article last week entitled 15 Companies That Might Not Survive 2009. One on the list is Krispy Kreme. I’m groaning over this one. Please, don’t let Krispy Kreme go!

I remember the first hot glazed Krispy Kreme doughnut that crossed my lips. Wow. It seems sacriligeous to say it was heavenly, but it was. My wife and I have tried to recreate the experience with the boxes of doughnuts from Food Lion, tossing a pair on a plate then microwaving them just long enough to be hot. It’s OK, but it is just not the same.

Hopefully Krispy Kreme will survive, as well as the other companies on US News’ list. And please don’t tell my doctor I like these things.

This story in the Raleigh Telegram got this post started. Krispy Kreme is on Wikipedia. Their company site is here.

Comments
  1. ShoreIndie says:

    Interesting to see that Rite Aid and Blockbuster both employ more people than Chrysler.

  2. You know I didn’t see that. That is weird. Did you see that Six Flags employs 30,000? I wouldn’t have guessed that many.

  3. Sometimes if you’re out late, like 1 or 2am, you can hit a 24 hour Dunkin Donuts and get any variety donut when they are still warm… I usually just ask if they have any like that and they hook me up. Saturday night is the best cause they have a horrendous sunday morning rush to get ready for.

  4. good information Brian, I’m usually in bed, however…