Inauguration Day 2009

Posted: 01/20/2009 by that's Elbert in Barack Obama, bias, government, prayer, President, Rants/Opinions, USA
Tags:

Has anyone gotten sick of the inauguration coverage on the cable news? “GagFest” would be an appropriate title. I am near sick of it. I am sure it’s just overexposure. I am also sure there is something else going on in the world.

If I read/hear one more liberal telling me I’d better get behind our new President, oh yes, we’d better support him, I may reply that liberals have been such good examples for the last eight years I just thought I’d act just like them. No, I would not do that.

Media Research Center summarizes inauguration coverage since 1989 here. Imagine my surprise at the AP’s critique of the overpriced inauguration. ABC News discusses the cost as well.

Has anyone complained about the Presidential election being stolen? Nope. Most of us on the right trust the system, although if I see much more of ACORN’s actions and crap like what is happening in Minnesota, that trust might be erased.

OK, the rant is over.

For the days following Tuesday’s events, one thing that will need to happen is prayer. What I would consider to be a good prayer is posted over on the Pentecostal/Charismatic Charisma Magazine website. This is probably something I would use for a guide, which may come as no surprise to those who have read my “About” page. Here are some selections I would like to share. First:

Let us make supplication, prayers and intercession, and give thanks for all men, especially all who are in authority over us, so that we may lead quiet and peaceable lives in America, in godliness and honesty (see 1 Tim. 2:1-2).

Second:

We bind spirits that would cause us to lose our constitutional and civil liberties. We declare that the gospel and those who preach it shall have free course in the earth.

Third:

Father, we ask You to move over Barack Obama and America. Keep and protect him. Your Word says that the heart of the king is in Your hand, and like a river You turn it wherever You will (see Prov. 21:1). Father, turn his heart in the direction of Your favor, timing and plan.

And finally:

Lord, we ask You to supernaturally intervene concerning the laws that will affect the civil liberties of believers. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

If you’d like some insight to my thoughts and prayers since election day, hit the link for the prayer and read the second paragraph. It echoes the prayers I prayed for Bill Clinton: protection. I never fully understood why I should pray for Clinton’s protection, but that’s what I prayed. Sometimes you just have to do what you’re told.

May God have mercy and continue to bless the State of Delaware and the United States of America.

Comments are closed.