MLK Day 2009

Posted: 01/19/2009 by that's Elbert in History, holidays
Tags: ,

While the media is giddy over this Martin Luther King Day being followed by the inauguration of our first president who happens to be black, I would rather focus on the words of Dr. King. As I noted back in 2007, this is one of my favorite passages of the “I Have A Dream” speech:

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together. This is our hope.

I must add in the most often quoted passage from that speech:

I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I hope that during my lifetime, we will see that fulfilled. We as a nation are working on it. I have a feeling that it will be be seen in my generation and my children’s generation.

And further, might I add in some comments from The Partiot Post:

Historian Shelby Steele observed, “There is an awful lot of conservative sentiment in black America, but at the moment, the party line is ruthlessly enforced.” Indeed, some of King’s chief lieutenants, like Jesse Jackson, tolerate no dissension from their liberal ranks now. They have abandoned King’s dream, and aligned themselves with political and social agendas obsessed with color at the expense of character.

Black conservatives of national stature, such as Clarence Thomas, Condoleezza Rice, Colin Powel, Ward Connerly, Michael Steele, Jesse Lee Peterson, Alan Keyes, Don Scoggins, Alvin Williams, Ken Blackwell, Thomas Sowell, Star Parker and Walter Williams are routinely castigated by the Black Supremacists, as “Uncle Toms” and “puppets.” Yet these are the men and women who really understand King’s central message about character.

Comments are closed.