Football and The Bible

Posted: 01/10/2009 by that's Elbert in News & Politics, sports
Tags: , ,

I don’t know much about sports. Frequently invoking laughter, I would make an idiot of myself during middle school gym class, struggling to play baseball, basketball, and football. Thus, I seldom write about sports unless it’s a story like this. Reading Dan Gaffney’s Twitter I learned about a quarterback on the Florida Gators who writes Bible verses under his eyes. Tim Tebow, whose parents are missionaries, most recently placed the verse “John 3:16” under his eyes. That Scripture reference became the most searched term on Google on January 8, 2009. I checked this morning on Google Trends where it currently resides at #6. Nice.

This story reminded me of that guy that used to throw up some kind of banner bearing “John 3:16” during games in an area around the goal for the most visibility. A recording artist I love, Steve Taylor, wrote a tribute to him on his 1993 album Squint.

Doing some research, I discovered the “bannerman” was Rollen Stewart. According to Wikipedia, he was not a very nice guy. He is currently serving three consecutive life sentences in jail on kidnapping charges. One blog I found reported that he has been put on Paxil, an antidepressant, while in prison.

Goes to show that choices we make cause very different outcomes.

PS: I guess every well-liked tough guy gets his own “facts” page. My favorite: “Superman fears Kryptonite. Tim Tebow eats it for breakfast.”

Comments are closed.