Albums At Goodwill

Posted: 01/02/2009 by that's Elbert in Fun, Music

My wife and I were cruzing the Goodwill in Bridgeville Tuesday, attempting to find an article of clothing (ended up walking out with seven, you guys understand). I always look through the music selection, hoping to find something worth the money. Honestly a recording of any value is seldom found, although a cassette by Ah-Ha did make it back home (it was only 50 cents, and my kids had been enjoying “Take On Me”). This time I took note of the age on the LPs in the pile and decided to have some fun. Below are some of the gems I found.

Did any of you sing along with Mitch? I remember my neighbor from my childhood had a bunch of these.

Mitch Miller

How about some smokin’ Accordion in HI-FI:

Accordion

A piece of Delaware history:

Delaware Choral

Let’s have a limbo party!

Chubby Checker

I don’t drink but this might drive me to it:

Beer-Drinking Music

How about an old school album?

Gilbert and Sullivan 1

Gilbert and Sullivan 2

The collection wouldn’t be complete without some Barry Manilow.

Barry Manilow

Comments
  1. Nancy Willing says:

    heh, good post. Makes me want to stop into the GW today.

  2. swampcritter2 says:

    Elbert, just because we’re getting older, doesn’t mean that the bad music we listened to back then improves with age. I don’t necessarily believe that I’ve improved. what people mistake for improvement is just me coming around to realizing my limitations.
    Bad music doesn’t improve. Nostalgia has it’s place, but it is a deceiver.

  3. Uncle Paul says:

    Seeing the Mitch Miller album flashed a trivial memory into my head.. One of the weekly singers of the “Sing Along With Mitch Gang” became quite a celebrity on his own in the 70’s on a popular, children’s show.. Can you name him?

    Answer: coming soon

  4. Uncle Paul says:

    In response to “Swampcritter’s” comment regarding older music being bad. It always amazes me how people always make fun of Disco Music. When it hit the market, “Saturday Night Fever” became the biggest selling album in history. There are a lot of folks out there today who would deny they actually bought that album. LIARS.. Somebody bought all the records of the songs that many dislike today.

    Huey Lewis said it best: “It’s Hip To Be Square”.

  5. Great post! It makes me wonder if those album could actually fetch any coin on, say, eBay. In particular, I imagine old-time recordings of Gilbert & Sullivan music could be quite rare.

    • Mike, thanks for your comment! Regarding that Gilbert & Sullivan album, Goodwill had a price tag on it in the $20 range, but I find that hard to believe for Goodwill. If I would have had the turntable to play 78’s I might have grabbed it. Alas, I’m only playing 33’s and 45’s on my old Kenwood direct drive turntable, so I couldn’t have even checked the condition of the records except visual. I have sold a lot of my more collectible recordings on eBay, but usually prefer to check the “playability” before listing.

  6. swampcritter2 says:

    Beware the allure of the ’78. About 30 odd years ago a fellow music buff, and friend of mine were granted access to a collection of approximately 14000 78 rpm records.
    We recorded (transferred to tape) over 2000 we wanted to save.
    the entire process took nearly 2 years of burning the candle at both ends.
    I wound up in the hospital on one occasion from sheer exhaustion connected with the project. Never again. I no longer own the tapes. Go figure.

  7. Swampcritter2, that’s messed up. I don’t have any 78’s but I’ve got a pile of 33’s and 45’s. My desire is to get the ones that will never make it to CD recorded. I have been able to take advantage of some other folks’ work, but there are still several that I haven’t found. I hope I don’t encounter the same experience you have. 😦

  8. swampcritter2 says:

    Elbert, Going from vinyl (45 or 33) to CD is not that big a deal. You can do that at home for less than $200 from Radio Shack.The cost may be prohibitive only if a record company decides the costs associated with the transfer are not cost effective. In other words if there ain’t no market for it ain’t gonna happen.
    If you opt to go from vinyl to CD and do it yourself, be forewarned, the sound quality will suffer. I know when I went from 78 (shellac) to tape the sound quality depended on the quality of the 78 itself (how many times it had been played, etc.) I could eliminate some hiss and pop using a Dolby recorder, that was all I had to play with back then. Believe it or not I actually taped broken 78s back together and recorded them with little pop. Crazy huh?
    Every time a stylus goes down a groove in a record, whether it be vinyl or shellac, it degrades the sound quality of that disc. Thus far there is no computer program that can resurrect a dead piece of vinyl or shellac.
    I don’t know how particular you are about sound quality, but to a music crank, it does matter. You can spend quite a lot of money pursuing perfect sound only to discover in the end that you might be partially deaf.
    The other caveat I offer you is that in 10-15 years the CD too is slated to go the way of the Dodo. Plans are underway to replace it with a disc the size of a silver dollar.
    Good Luck.