Christmas 2008

Posted: 12/25/2008 by that's Elbert in Christmas, Family Stuff, holidays, personal

Christmas decorations

The sun was shining through our bedroom window this morning. It was a pleasant break from the overcast days we have had in abundance lately.

This Christmas is different than the many we’ve had as a family. Our daughter is not at home anymore. She and her boyfriend came and enjoyed the Christmas eve traditions in our family. On Christmas Day, she will be spending the day with his family. Next Christmas will begin a new era, having a grandchild join our family as well.

Here’s a Christmas memory my wife and I had. Several years ago our daughter wanted a white Christmas. My wife encouraged her to pray and ask God for one. She did on a regular basis, despite what the forecast predicted. Christmas Day we were prepared to talk about prayer with her, hoping to deal with her disappointment. Much to our surprise, when we woke that day there was a heavy frost all over the ground. Yes, everything had a white look to it! Funny thing to it, neither my wife or I recall frost being part of the forecast. We brought our daughter to the window so she could see it. No, our daughter didn’t get the “traditional” White Christmas but she got one we will remember for a long, long time. What was the lesson she carried away? Be more specific in her requests!

Yesterday, my wife and I slipped out to Wal-Mart to pick up our oldest son from his job. The parking lot was packed, and with only two routes out of there, a great deal of patience had to be practiced while dealing with the mass of vehicles. Strangley, I saw no rude driving. Most everyone I encountered were being patient, giving room to merging cars and avoiding the horn when driving behavior wasn’t very nice. We slipped into Food Lion and Family Dollar to pick up some items for Christmas Day, finding stores that were very busy but seemed to run smoothly. It might be the change in our economy that changed everyone’s attitudes. Whatever it might be, it was pleasant.

We had to slip out to Shore Stop at 10:30 last night for a gallon of milk. Being the only store open in town, they were busy. At the risk of embarrassed my wife, on our way out I yelled “Merry Christmas” to everyone standing in line. There were some responses to it. Some folks just looked either grouchy or tired. It was fine to me either way. I’m blessed, so I will spread it around.

What did I get for Christmas? Socks and underwear, the typical dad gifts!  Naw, I just got the socks. 🙂

I pray that God will bless you this Christmas. May his son, Jesus, bring peace to your home.

Christmas decorations

Comments
  1. swampcritter2 says:

    Merry Christmas Elbert to you and yer’ family!