The Day My Wallet Stood Still

Posted: 12/21/2008 by that's Elbert in Movies and TV
Tags: ,

My oldest son saw the remake of The Day The Earth Stood Still last weekend. He came home and the first words out of his mouth were that the movie was full of propaganda. That was confirmed here and here. Bill Sammons gave it 4 out of 10 which may have been generous. I thought I would enjoy it due to Keanu Reeves, but one can only take so much bull poo. All I can say is that maybe my wife and I taught our oldest son something. I doubt any money will be spent on this.

Comments
  1. Elbert, I know there are usually more options than being held captive in a movie theatre and filling the pockets of immoral Hollywood egos with cash-money.

    So I checked the movie reviews and surprise! The 1951 version gets a 93% rating and the 2008 version gets a 20% from rottentomatoes.com. You can find out more info by googling “The Day The Earth Stood Still (1951)”. You can watch it online, but you didn’t hear that from me. It was a drive-in classic and well worth watching.

    Hmm… Maybe things were better back in the 50’s.