Random Thoughts #7

Posted: 12/15/2008 by that's Elbert in opinions, Rants/Opinions
Tags: ,

It’s been a little busy and stressful in the last two weeks, so there has not been a lot of writing on the blog. There hasn’t been much I wanted to write about nor was there time to write, so I sort of “paused” with a few exceptions. I’ve got some time off coming up so maybe that will help break the drought.

The discussion about putting a national park in Delaware is on again. One time the Cypress Swamp in Gumboro was suggested. Other times it’s been some of the beaches currently under the state’s control. Quite honestly I don’t see the point. Forty-nine other states have national parks, so what if Delaware doesn’t have one? One can only imagine the pain and suffering the federal government would impose on property owners bordering the national park, like how much fertilizer they could put on their lawn or what type of septic system they could have. The possibilities could be endless. With regard to this matter, Delaware doesn’t need to be a “me too!” state.

Our local Bonanzas closed up more than a year ago. I noticed that the Golden Corral in Seaford has now closed their doors. I have not heard why the restaurant has closed, but one can only wonder if it was run into the ground or if it just couldn’t make it in this current economic climate. From the road it appeared that the place was busy, but maybe appearances don’t mean much. Hopefully it is just a temporary thing and the doors will reopen soon.

Another personal item is worth noting here. I found out a little more than a week ago that I will be a grandfather. Well, I made my mother a grandmother at 41, so I get to enjoy the same.

Well, that’s about it for now.

Comments
  1. laurel says:

    Elbert-
    Nice to see you posting again.

    I just noticed today that the Seaford Golden Corral was closed – I was surprised, and I’m sad for the folks who lost their jobs.

    Congrats on impending grandfatherhood (is that a word?).

    What do you think about Laurel High School being ranked among the best in the US by US News and World Report magazine (one of three in DE)? http://www.delawareonline.com/article/20081215/NEWS03/812150349/1006/NEWS
    Go Laurel!

  2. Yes indeed, I am very happy to see that bit of news about LHS. I meant to put it in this post and published it without it. Bad, bad Elbert!

    For today “grandfatherhood” is a word!

  3. Congrats on the grandkid-to-be!

    I heard an unsubstantiated rumor that the reason Golden Corral closed down was because the General Manager ran off with a ton of money and disappeared.

    I do know from speaking with employees of GC (I work next door to the place, after all) that in the last few months that people were not just coming in like they used to, and sales dropped dramatically.

    If the first rumor is true, the closing is only temporary until they get someone to run the place. If the second, then it will just be another empty storefront on that side of Rt 13.

  4. Andy says:

    Congrats, grandpa-to-be!

  5. Michael says:

    I saw that Grandpa…congratulations! I also agree with the national park angle because it’s yet another property or property rights grab, not to mention yet another lobby that will b**** and complain if some future President actually attempts to bring sanity to the federal budget (Sarah Palin or Bobby Jindal?)

    As for Golden Corral, it’s already a tough time to be in the restaurant biz…I seem to recall the parent company of Applebee’s and IHOP was also struggling somewhat.

  6. The Seaford GC is off the national website for locations… it is not going to reopen.

    The next rumor I heard is that the owner also owns Salisbury and Dover, and they might close too… but that came from a very unreliable source.

  7. Salisbury GC is open. I was at Toys R Us today and saw that GC is indeed up and running there.

  8. laurel says:

    Daily Times online reports the restaurant closed due to “underperformance”:

    http://delmarvanow.com/article/20081217/BUSINESS/812170381

    It goes on to say that Salisbury GC is owned by a different franchisee.