Sunday Thoughts: Jesus Is For Losers

Posted: 12/07/2008 by that's Elbert in Christianity, Music, Sunday Thoughts
Tags: ,

If I was driven
Driven ahead by some noble ideal, Who took the wheel?
If I was given
Given a glimpse of some glorious road, When was it sold?
So caught up in the chase, I keep forgetting my place

Just as I am, I am stiff-necked and proud
Jesus is for losers, Why do I still play to the crowd?
Just as I am, Pass the compass, please
Jesus is for losers, I’m off about a hundred degrees

If I was groping
Groping around for some ladder to fame, I am ashamed
If I was hoping
Hoping respect would make a sturdy footstool, I am a fool
Bone-weary every climb, Blindsided every time

Just as I am, I am needy and dry
Jesus is for losers, The self-made need not apply
Just as I am, In a desert crawl
Lord, I’m so thirsty, Take me to the waterfall

And if you’re certain
Certain your life is some cosmic mistake, Why do you shake?
And if you’re certain
Certain that faith is some know-nothing mask, Why do you still ask?
They don’t grade here on the curve, We both know what we deserve

Just as you are, Just a wretch like me
Jesus is for losers, Grace from the blood on a tree
Just as we are, At a total loss
Jesus is for losers, Broken at the foot of the cross

Just as I am, Pass the compass, please
Jesus is for losers, I’m off about a hundred degrees
Just as I am, In a desert crawl
Lord, I’m so thirsty, Take me to the waterfall

Lyrics by Steve Taylor, from his album Squint released in 1993 on Warner Brothers Records. One of my favorite songs.

Comments
  1. Coos News says:

    Dear Elbert,

    Forgive me for saying this, but I am not partial to the tone of this poem.

    It seems so secular, the mentioning of “loser” in particular.

    There is a connection to the earthly and worldly here, like the ‘new’ churches that are ‘down with the people’ and ushering in the pink hair, ear ringed males, the street language, and dare I say it: the wearing of T-shirts in church.

    Kindest regards,
    The Outraged One

  2. Here’s what Steve Taylor said about the song:

    I go back to the subversive communication in the Bible, you know. So many times Jesus would say something to get people’s attention. He knew that he had to engage their minds as well as their hearts, and so a song title like “Jesus is for Losers” hopefully makes you want to read what the song is saying, and of course, the song says in summary of what Jesus said–I didn’t come for those who were well. I came for those who need a doctor. All of us are losers–that’s why we need the Saviour. (from this web site)