Return Day – Reception for Candidates

Posted: 11/06/2008 by that's Elbert in christine o'donnell, Delaware, election, governor, holidays, Jack Markell, Politics
Tags:

returnday2008-1

My wife and I attended the Return Day Reception for Candidates this morning. There was plenty of food and plenty of politicians. A short guy just has trouble at events such as these, although Clerk of the Peace George Parrish seemed to not care.

returnday2008-2

Melody and I wandered around the room, said hello to a few people, and ate some food. The winners and losers were there. We saw outgoing governor Ruth Ann Minner when we first walked in. On our way out, I got to stop to talk briefly with governor-elect Jack Markell.

returnday2008-3

In my introduction, I mentioned that I wrote a blog called “That’s Elbert With An E”. I described this blog as “conceited and self-centered”, to which he bent over in laughter. Yeah, I was just after a laugh. I wanted to tell him that he would fail miserably as a governor if he didn’t get in a picture with me. Well, the problem with that logic is that Bill Lee did get a picture with me and he lost the election. Maybe this picture is the kiss of death for Markell. Maybe I think too much of myself.

I would hope most of you know that the last paragraph was mostly tongue-in-cheek.

Personally I want to get a comment from Howard comparing me to a certain Delmar blogger that covers mostly Maryland news.

UPDATE: I forgot to mention two things. First, there were a large number of “Send JC to DC” stickers around the event, clearly supporting John Carney replacing Biden for two years. I would wonder if he really wants to be a placeholder. Second, I did not see Christine O’Donnell at the reception, and according to this article she didn’t ride in the parade either. Sorry to hear that. I don’t have a clue as to why.

UPDATE 2: CNN reported:

The candidates from the state’s races are also meant ride in the carriages together in a show of unity, the victor facing forward, the loser backwards. However, Biden’s Republican opponent, Christine O’Donnell, appeared to not have gotten the memo, leaving Biden alone in his carriage with Mrs. Biden,

Asked where O’Donnell was, Biden pointed to the carriage seat in front of him and told CNN, “I don’t know, she was supposed to be here.” Biden staffers said they did see her at the event but it is unclear why she didn’t join the Delaware senator in his carriage.

But the AP reported:

While the tradition calls for winners and losers to ride together, Biden’s Senate challenger, Christine O’Donnell, rode in a separate carriage. O’Donnell said she was told that the Biden camp preferred they not ride together, but that she understood security concerns had to be taken into account.

So it would appear that there was some miscommunication.

Comments
  1. Howard says:

    You just can’t pass a politician without having your photo taken with them, can you Elbert? There must be a name for this type of disorder, maybe Post-Election-Tramatic-Photo-Disorder or something.

  2. I did resist it for the most part. I would have gotten a picture with George Parrish if he had stood still long enough. I saw John Atkins and considered him too, just to tweak some other Delaware bloggers, but I thought that can of worms should not be opened. 🙂