Elbert’s Random Thoughts

Posted: 10/16/2008 by that's Elbert in cars, election, opinions, web sites
Tags: , , , , ,

I have had several random-thought-like posts before. My friend Bill has written two posts of his random thoughts which inspired me to do another. So, here are mine, although they are a bit longer and have that “Elbert” feel, whatever that is.

Is anyone suffering from election fatigue? Today we are roughly two and a half weeks away from the election, and I am almost sick of the whole process. It’s the constant news over and over again. It is difficult to escape because there is some coverage everywhere you go. Good grief, I almost don’t want to look at the bumper on my truck or van because of the campaign stickers. Politics won’t be missing from the posts on this blog. I’m just a bit fried right now.

I decided to get into microblogging. If you are on Twitter, you can follow me at this link. There are already a couple of readers who found me there. Feel free to come by too.

After talking with Howard at Tuesday’s 40th District candidate forum, I am convinced that he wants me to run for some elected office next time around. There are only two problems with this. First, he doesn’t want to be my campaign manager. Second, there are no dog catchers elected locally. According to Howard, one qualification I have for elected office in Sussex County is a nickname. There is a post coming up on this blog about the nickname, but in the meantime, you can look on Delmar Dustpan and A Little BS to find out what it is. There’s a brief story about it, and it’s not what you think it is.

I perceive that jack Markell is viewed by some as Delaware’s version of Barack Obama without some of the messianic qualities. If Markell gets the job, he will probably be Delaware’s version of Jimmy Carter. Even Democrats will be lining up to run against him. Now all the Republicans need is Pete DuPont II. And yes, the Republicans will have a primary courtesy of Mike Protack. Good grief, I’ve written about politics. I must not be too burned out. This one has been on my mind for a while. I just needed to type it.

Here is another that’s been in my head for about a year. In 20 years, the major auto maker in the US will not be either of the big three. They will have tanked under the weight of union benefits and poor sales. The top auto makers will be new companies making quality cars cheaper without the weight of the unions. I have heard Clark Howard says this will happen in 10 years. I will still stand by my 20. In light of the current economic climate, Clark Howard might be closer to that number.

UPDATE: This should henceforth be identified as Random Thoughts #5

Comments
  1. Howard says:

    Come on Elbert you know you are dieing to take the plunge, run for an elected office. Forget Christine O’Donnell promise of letting you be in her slower lower Delaware think tank, break free and run for your own office. Now to convince the same thing for Brian Shields – but wait Brian doesn’t have a nickname. We will have to think one up for him.

  2. No need to convince me. I am pretty sure with the vast size of the Libertarian Party of Delaware that I would be chosen to do the deed eventually. Right now I am focused entirely on building the Libertarian Party in Sussex up to become a force to be reckoned with. After the election we will resume meetings, and I am in the contemplative stages of a few events designed to get some press, some community involvement, and the ideals of libertarianism in the mainstream.

    I am pretty sure the other parties will have nicknames for me when we are in full swing, although I am pretty sure they won’t be ones I can put on a campaign sign.

    That being said, I am completely burned out on federal politics. I have absolutely no control over that beyond election day, and I have already decided where my votes will go there. (Yes, Christine has my vote, but Mark Parks has my vote for US Representative.)

  3. Shirley says:

    You go, Brian !