Laurel Pizzeria

Posted: 10/02/2008 by that's Elbert in food, Laurel, Laurel Delaware
Tags:

Nice, Laurel beat me to posting any information about the Laurel Pizzeria. Lesson learned: don’t sit on an idea too long! Laurel is big enough for two opinions, and it would appear that we both agree.

`

Don’t let the familiar brick exterior of Laurel Pizzeria fool you. The inside is completely redesigned, and it looks beautiful. Actually it looks like you’re walking into a higher end restaurant. And the food… yes, it’s great! I have had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant twice and carry-out once. For the first “eat-in” we ordered the house special pizza. It was a supreme pizza on steroids, with large toppings in abundance. It was very filling and very good. Second time through I got a pizza steak that had so much meat it was falling out of the roll. It was also very good. Third time through was carry-out for a large cheese pizza. The order was finished in the time promised, and yes, it was very good.

As you can already tell, I am a simple person and definitely no food critic. I can only say that it is worth your hard-earned bucks to give this place a try.

If you’re coming into town, Laurel Pizzeria is located on North Central Avenue just south of 5 Points in the old Pizza Palace building.

Comments
  1. Hehe. First!

    Thanks for the link. It is AMAZING pizza!

  2. Erin J says:

    I was impressed by the amount and quality of food given from the first time I was there. Their “large fries” is actually large! I was expecting the “Pizza King” size fries and ended up with a whole plate. Another time I ate there was last month during the Football Boosters’ fundraiser. The calzone I got was great and I still had some left after using it for leftovers the next day.

    I absolutely love that place.

  3. JSmith says:

    Glad to hear this. I’ve been meaning to stop in, but every time I’ve driven by, the parking lot’s been packed.

  4. Cliff says:

    Well keep me posted. I got carryout once, and while not the worst place I’ve ever been, it was one of those places that once was enough and I intended never to be back. The crust had good crunch, but was bland and needed some olive oil or grease on the bottom, it was too dry. The sauce was a good attempt I thought, I was suprised it had some flavor not just cheap tomato sauce, but still it needed some spice. But the whole pizza was just too bland. (reminded me of say Pat’s Pizza) The fries were cooked at too low a temperature and so soaked with old tasting grease flavor. The sub roll was way too soft and tasted like yellow cake, not like bread. The chicken steak was very cheap chicken and not fried enough no color, again no flavor. It actually had too much chicken and was just a big mess. I’d rather them have cut back a little on the meat and make some profit so they can stick around. It’s a shame because it seemed like a nice family. But nothing had any flavor, except for the fries like I said which were bad.

    I really hope they learn and improve, and be sure to post again in another couple weeks, especially with some pictures. In the meantime, I feel Pizza King’s food is much better, even with their crappy attitude and lazy employees.

    I personally feel that perhaps America’s single parent families are to blame for bad food? Too many kids home alone after school and microwave dinners, so they don’t know what good food tastes like? It’s the only reason I figure that places like Pat’s Pizza and Subway can survive down near the college.

  5. Cliff, when we first ate at Laurel Pizzeria, the owners (I assume) were soliciting comments on the food. Have you shared your experience with the owners? I am sure that they would like to know.

  6. Cliff says:

    You’re right Elbert, perhaps I should do just that. I eat out about 8 or 9 times a week, so hopefully I’d have some valid advice. There are far too few non-chain and non-fastfood places. I’d been waiting a long time for LP to open, then had the disappointing experience. I will try to give them another try soon after they’ve been working out the kinks. I do wish them the best, as I’d one day love to open my own restaurant when I retire.

  7. Bob says:

    Laurel Pizzeria is AWESOME! The variety is unbelievable. And the staff goes out of their way to make sure that you are happy. This is a big improvement for Laurel. They also have a web site now if you want to check it out. http://www.LaurelPizzeria.com