Dog Saves Man After Seizure

Posted: 09/15/2008 by that's Elbert in News & Politics
Tags: ,

Last Wednesday Joe Stalnaker had a seizure in his home. His dog Buddy, a German shepherd, called 911 for help.

On a recording of the 911 call Wednesday, Buddy is heard whimpering and barking after the dispatcher answers and repeatedly asks if the caller needs help.

“Hello, this is 911. Hello … Can you hear me? Is there somebody there you can give the phone to,” says the dispatcher, Chris Trott.

Police were sent to Stalnaker’s home, and after about three minutes Buddy is heard barking loudly when the officers arrived.

Buddy was adopted by Stalnaker at 8 weeks old from a organization that trains dogs just for that purpose: Paws With A Cause. Paws trains dogs to assist the disabled so that they are able to live independently. Following Buddy’s training, he was able to push some programed buttons until a 911 operator was reached. That’s a pretty cool dog.

Stalnaker spent two days in the hospital and recovered after the event.

I don’t think my dogs would do something like that even if they were trained. I was told our part lab dog apparently guarded me when I had the grand mal seizure a few years ago. Melody had to pull her away when the paramedics arrived. At least she wanted to be sure I was safe.

The AP article is here.

Comments are closed.