Jerry Reed 1937-2008

Posted: 09/04/2008 by that's Elbert in Music
Tags: ,

Country music legend Jerry Reed passed away on Sunday, August 31. I remember having his song “Amos Moses” on a 45. My parents had When You’re Hot, You’re Hot on a 8-track. It sat in the truck along with Ray Stevens’ The Streak (yes, I was exposed to a mixed bag of music). One Jerry Reed song that always stuck with me was “Another Puff”. It was a song about someone trying to give up smoking. Now listening to it, I have to wonder if he was drunk while recording it. My favorite lines from the song:

Son did you ever smoke?
Oh I remember one time I quit smoking
I quit for three months
My wife left me
So did my children
She took my house and left
It was a mobile home…

You can get all the lyrics to “Another Puff” here.  Jerry Reed is on Wikipedia. Nice tribute post to him on CMT.

Comments
  1. swampcritter2 says:

    Jerry never got credit for his dazzling guitar work. He was such an accomplished fingerstyle guitarist, that “Mr. Guitar” Chet Adkins had Jerry produce him. If Chet made a mistake Jerry would howl out from the production booth, ” Whoa Son, what are you doing?” He was a musician’s musician, one of a kind, and will be missed. A pity most people will only remember him for his country novelty tunes, he could do it all.