Draft Elbert For County Council

Posted: 07/25/2008 by that's Elbert in Delaware, elbert, election, Politics, Sussex County
Tags:

As many of you may know, back in May the Delaware Republicans drafted Bill Lee to run for governor in the First State. This might be the year for drafts. Howard at Delmar Dustpan has begun a Draft Elbert For County Council campaign. This comes upon the occasion that my representative on county council, Dale Dukes (along with two other council members) has decided to not seek another 4 year term. As Howard points out, I would have to leave my cushy part time job at Walmart to take on the duties of the office. It is also possible I could still take part in the as-yet-unformed Christine O’Donnell Slower Lower Brain Trust. However, knowing all the benefits of having that prestigious position in the county, I couldn’t take on the weight and burden of the campaign right now. Plus, I know I couldn’t afford the filing fee! I took on a part time job, remember?

My deepest thanks to all two of my supporters, but for now, in the words of Vice President Dick Cheney, “If nominated, I will not run; if elected, I will not serve.”

On a side thought, could you imagine one of your elected officials checking out your groceries at your local Food Lion or Walmart? Wouldn’t that be weird?

Comments are closed.