Some of the big news of the last week was Starbucks closing some 600 stores. As Brian pointed out in this post, the newly opened Seaford location is one that is getting the ax. I’ve been in that location twice, both times with my high school friend Scott. He’s been in there more than that. I haven’t talked to him since the news broke. It’s possible I’ll find him crying in his latte.

Howard reported that Linda’s Railroad Cafe in downtown Delmar has closed. He says it is displacing “seasoned citizens” who would drink coffee there. This is not good. Linda’s closing has displaced the 65+ crowd and Starbucks closing has displaced the 40 and under crowd. So far no report if those between the ages of 40 and 65 still drink coffee anywhere.

All this coffee news brings me to this thought. Why isn’t there a decent coffee place in Laurel? Is there one I just don’t know about?

I have often mourned the lack of a Krispy Kreme doughnut shop in the area. Sure, you can grab them in the grocery store or stop by Royal Farm or Shore Stop and get some. Those are not like the fresh tasty doughnuts you’d get in a Krispy Kreme. And there is nothing like hot glazed doughnuts from Krispy Kreme. A very close second is a beignet from Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans. In my opinion, both businesses have some great coffee.

My coffee at home is almost always ground just before brewing. It just tastes better. The brand of choice is Eight O’Clock Coffee, either regular or Columbian. One of those childhood memories was walking into the A&P in Millsboro with my mom and smelling that Eight O’Clock coffee as it was being ground with those coffee grinders at the end of the checkout lanes. Ah!

Comments are closed.