Steven Curtis Chapman’s Loss

Posted: 05/23/2008 by that's Elbert in Music, News & Politics

Steven Curtis Chapman is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since the mid 1980’s. A couple of days ago his 5 year-old adopted daughter was killed tragically in an accident at home. Earlier this week some discussion had been stirred up as a result of Ted Kennedy’s cancer discovery. In both of these stories we see tragedy comes to us all. We all can hurt. We all can feel pain.

I’ve never lost a child but I’ve got a daughter graduating from high school next week that makes me feel that connection to Chapman. I had just bought his song “Cinderella” from Amazon earlier this week. As I watch my little girl cross a milestone, thoughts of her growing up run through my head and warm my heart. It’s sometimes hard to listen to the song.

Michelle Malkin has a tear-jerker of a post regarding Chapman’s loss. It’s worth your time.

The AP has a news story here. The entry on Steven Curtis Chapman at Wikipedia is here.

Comments are closed.