Gospel Singer-Songwriter Dottie Rambo Dies

Posted: 05/12/2008 by that's Elbert in Christianity, Music, News & Politics
Tags: , , , , ,

I grew up hearing Dottie Rambo’s songs sung by many different people. Certainly I had sang one myself. That style of music is no longer my cup of tea, but memories of those songs still rattle around in my head. I was saddened to hear that she had passed away during a bus accident early in the morning on Mother’s Day, May 11th. From the CMT website:

Six other people in the bus, including her manager, were injured when the 1997 Prevost bus crashed into a guard rail and an embankment around 2:20 a.m. on Interstate 44 near Mount Vernon, Mo. At the time of the accident, the singer-songwriter was traveling to a Mother’s Day performance at a church in North Richland Hills, Texas.

From the AP:

It was unclear whether the crash was related to the severe storms and tornadoes that hit the region on Saturday. Storms also swept through the area later in the night, according to the National Weather Service.

Popular singer-songwriter Dolly Parton paid tribute:

“I know Dottie is in heaven in the arms of God right now, but our earth angel will surely be missed,” Parton said in a statement. “Dottie was a dear friend, a fellow singer, songwriter and entertainer, and as of late my duet singing partner.”

She was a respected woman in Gospel music, earning a Grammy and inducted in the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame as well as the Gospel Music Hall of Fame (twice, as a solo artist and part of a group).

The Wikipedia article about Dottie Rambo is here. Gospel Music Hall of Fame has a brief bio here and here. Her website is here.

Comments
  1. Thomas L Creamer says:

    I grew up hearing her wonderful songs that’s she wrote. I sings some her songs and I will always sing them. I got DVD, Records And cookbook. Now she in the arms of Jesus Now no tears will never stains that city. I’m gonna miss her so. my prayers with the family. one day I will see you again up there. If you see my mama and daddy say hello for me.

  2. Shirl Skipper says:

    My prayers and love go out to Dotties daughter and family in the loss of their loved one I met her and her family when I was 16 years old and new to this area from West Texas I saw and heard this beautiful Godly Lady sing and minister to us at the Pentecostal Church in Dubach,La It left such an impact on my young life then. I am now 63 and holding on to Gods unchanging hand. God be with you all in this time of sorrow

  3. Michael Hamilton says:

    Iam just learning of the passing of a dear friend .
    I first heard of Dottie songs by watching a local television station where they were featuring bill Gaither celebrating with dottie that was in 2000 I make a copy and from that day i played the cd every night before i go to my bed

  4. Ngombu S. Brima says:

    What a shock to learn this very moment of the death of Dottie Rambo whose music has left an indeliable ink in my heart.Dottie was charming and gracious no doubt her music.I believed Dottie ministed not only to my family and I but alo to other christians and gospel music lovers.Sure inough Dottie is sleeping in the Lord and persuaded that when the trumpet of the Lord shall sound and when The lord who reigns shall come in the second and glorious appearing I believe Dottie shall all caught up to meet Him in the air.

    You are gone but your songs continue to serve as a source of solace to us. I have your songs in mt Ipod which we play as family in as we travel along life’s railway. Praise God you died in the lord, on your way to minister on His behalf in songs .

    We shall miss you but but your sweet and well worded songs shall live with us until the our good Lord call us to rest.

    DITTIE ASLEEP IN JESUS PEACEFUL REST WHOSE WAKING IS SUPREELY BLESSED.