Random Thoughts #4

Posted: 03/26/2008 by that's Elbert in blogging, Christianity, Delaware, friends, holidays, Maryland, personal

I’m off work this week. There are various things to do at home but there’s either no motivation or no money to do them. Throw this on top of it all: the van starts spraying coolant late Monday night. So for right now it’s out of commission and I’m getting our family around in a 3 seat pickup truck. Nice. Hey, if you know anyone I could barter computer services for auto repair, let me know!

We did get through one event for the week today, and it went very well, actually better than expected. It helps to bathe those troubles and the things that worry you in prayer. The Lord just seems to have a way to make those speedbumps less bumpy. What I’m tackling now would best be described as a “speed mountain”. I’d like to see it knocked down to a speedbump or less. Applying Mark 11:22-26 to life isn’t easy.

I would imagine that some are getting weary of the many religious posts recently. It’s a part of my life that’s real, and I like to talk about it.

Kavips noticed that there wasn’t much said on the Delaware blogs about Easter. All that was posted here was the Sunday Thoughts post and the sunrise service pictures. There wasn’t a whole lot to add to the day. Our Sunday service contained several performances by our drama team, an extended worship music set, then a brief sermon from the pastor. Our family enjoyed a day of peace and a nice turkey dinner. We didn’t have a ham because I like turkey better, besides we already had a turkey in the freezer. Honestly, a day of peace was just fine for me.

Lest I forget. kavips has been kind enough to mention me on the blog twice, so kavips is in the blogroll now. Welcome! And shame on me to leave out another blog that has linked here: ShoreBlogs. It’s in now too.

ShoreBlogs had a recent post about Technorati’s Authority Numbers for several of the blogs he has listed. I got on his list at #8 with a 23. My friend Michael at Monoblogue tops the list with a 73. He was certainly happy about it.

Finally, a big welcome back to Karen at A Woman’s Point of View. You were missed!

Comments
  1. ShoreThings says:

    Thanks for the mention.

  2. kavips says:

    You are a better man than I…….

    My sunrise service was indoors….7 am

  3. swampcritter2 says:

    I can’t speak for anyone but myself Elbert, but the religious nature of your posts doesn’t bother me in the least. I’m particular about where I go to absorb religion, and at least you’re professing your faith and not making excuses for it.

  4. kavips, next year the pastor says he’s going to stay in his truck, roll down the window and lead it from there. I would do the same but his truck looks much better than mine. 🙂

    swampcritter2, thanks for your kind words.