Yankee or Dixie?

Posted: 03/22/2008 by that's Elbert in culture, Fun, Just For Fun

I swiped this from WGMD’s Talk of Delmarva blog. Click here and take The Yankee or Dixie Quiz. My score:

50% (Yankee). Barely into the Yankee category.

Aw man, if it would have been 50% Dixie I would feel a little better. Southern people are cooler.

When my family lived in Pensacola, we made friends with many people from Alabama, Georgia, and North Carolina. To them, we were northerners or Yankees. To friends in Pennsylvania, we were southerners. We felt like outcasts, people without a region or something. I thought we had more in common with our southern friends, or at least we felt more at home.

Well, let me ask this: how many of my readers have drank wooter from the zink? If someone asked you how you were, did you ever say “fair ta mid’lin?”

UPDATE: I didn’t see the notes at the top of the test. You can’t change your answers during the test or it will throw your score. So, I took the test again and came up with this score:

63% (Dixie). A definitive Southern score!

OK, I feel better now.

Comments
  1. I am “44% (Yankee). Barely into the Yankee category.”

    ..which makes me wonder. I grew up squarely in Massachusetts. We drank from bubblers, and soda cans (although my grandfather called it pop), and ate grinders.

    I think y’all southerners are rubbing off on me now.

  2. Erin J says:

    “84% (Dixie). Did you have any Confederate ancestors?”

    N.I.C.E.

    I worked for four years during college to negate the Southern Drawl. Moving back downstate though made it all come back. Its a losing battle at this point.