The Big CDs Are Back

Posted: 01/28/2008 by that's Elbert in Music

When they were younger, my kids would look over my record collection with a view that only a younger person would have. They would describe my 45s as ‘CDs with big holes’ and my LPs as “big CDs”. I always got a laugh out of that one. By the way, they didn’t know what to think of the few 8-tracks I had around. I had to cover this to explain the title of this post. Recently the long playing record has had a revival. It’s mostly seen as a specialty item. If you’re in the Centre At Salisbury (or some other mall) detour into Hot Topic and take a look in the music section. You’ll find a small selection of recent music on vinyl. I even found a copy of Def Leppard’s Pyromania on a picture disk. Yep, I’d be kickin’ it old school if I had money to burn.

I’ve got an old Kenwood direct drive turntable. It is the best one I’ve ever owned. The problem is that I don’t have a pre-amp for the thing so I can plug it into my computer. I’ve got a bunch of LPs and 45s that will never make it to CD or any digital format unless someone like me moves them there. Grady Nutt is one person that will probably never make it there. He was a Southern Baptist minister that had a knack for a good humorous story. He had several LPs back in the 70’s and early 80’s that I’ve assembled from eBay. I have found a few diverse digital files but not too many. That isn’t all I’ve got but that is a good place to start.

Ryan at Jokers To The Right got this vinyl post started. He also covers the “loudness war” mentioned in this Rolling Stone article. It is worth your time reading.

Comments
  1. swampcritter2 says:

    Elbert, If you want old school, I still own approximately 300 78 rpm records. Many moons ago a friend and I taped several hundred of them from a collection of over 14,000. Took us two years, and nearly ruined my health in the process. Some vinyl ’33s are very collectible. Direct to disc 33s are also worth a few bucks these days. Their sound can best be described as so awesome as to stun you. I believe I still have a few 45s including one Buddy Holly.