The Religion Question for Romney and Huckabee

Posted: 01/07/2008 by that's Elbert in Christianity, election, Politics, President

Over at First State Mitt Politics, guest poster Ron Letterman makes his case for Romney. I wanted to make a few comments to his post.

Comparing Gary Bauer and Mike Huckabee is odd because outside of their faith there is no comparison. Bauer ran a think tank whereas Huckabee ran a state for 10.5 years.

I am a Christian, but that will not be the defining reason I will push the button for any candidate. I do think that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is a cult, but that will not disqualify Romney from getting my vote if I were going to vote for him. I would hope that other believers think this way. To characterize Christians as only voting for other Christians would suggest that believers are mind-numb robots, which for the overwhelming majority of us that is not the case. I think Ron knows that too.

Here are some other unrelated scattered thoughts:

  • In my mind a candidate that has previously governed something gives them standing over most other candidates. So in light of that, Romney, Huckabee, and Guiliani have the edge over the field of Republican candidates.
  • To look at one thing on the surface, I think we are going to have a tough time electing someone from New England.
  • If you remove John McCain then take all the remaining candidates and mash the best of each together, we would have a winner. Yeah, in my dreams.

It is great to hear from Ron Letterman again. I still love him from his days at The Light FM and more recently WGMD. I hope he is doing well and that we hear more from him. Ron, if you read this, you should start your own blog! I had hoped  that you would do that after you left WGMD.

Comments
  1. swampcritter2 says:

    I’m a follower of Jesus and I too consider Mormonism a cult religion. At one time however Christianity was regarded as a pernicious cult. I couldn’t vote for Mr. Romney but not because of his faith. There are other reasons. Oddly enough I heard one of the tenets held to by the Mormon church is a steadfast belief that the United States should always remain a republic. Gary Bauer I believe is a Roman Catholic. He also wrote a book on religion in America and how it pertains to politics. Good read.

  2. swampcritter2 says:

    I stand corrected by myself. The book I referred to is “God, Religion and American Politics by Garry Wills, NOT Gary Bauer. Sorry ’bout that Elbert. Mea Culpa.