Woodland Ferry Part 2

Posted: 12/29/2007 by that's Elbert in Delaware, Laurel, Laurel Delaware, Seaford, transportation & roads

Howard has a bit more to say about the ferry. He makes a point that I didn’t but had crossed my mind. Why didn’t they have the new ship ready to go when they took down the old one? I know that new docks need to be built, but is that going to take 11 months? This is yet one more reason why people have issues with DelDOT. From what I can see, it’s pretty sloppy planning. Someone is free to straighten me out on this, politely I might add.

I noticed on the News Journal comments area that some dispute the money being spent on the ferry. Putting up a bridge down there would be a huge mess considering that they have large ships pass through there. Could you imagine how much it would cost to put up a bridge? There would be studies done, committees… good grief it would take 10 years and cost 10 times what it will cost to do the planned fix.

My original post is here.

Comments
  1. Alan Coffey says:

    If a bridge is only 10 times what the ferry costs over time, then for sure they would want to put in a tunnel at 100 times the cost!

    Just my $0.02 😉 Happy New Year

  2. Dana says:

    Hi Elbert… from what I understand, some pretty massive improvements have to be made to the docks, site grading, ramps and facilities. Those improvements couldn’t be made with the old ferry in place- such as new cabling and the likes.