New Christmas Albums

Posted: 12/14/2007 by that's Elbert in Christmas, holidays, Music

One of my favorite groups is Jars of Clay. Earlier this year I was very excited to learn that a Christmas album would be released this year. You can listen to their album Christmas Songs in it’s entirety online. That’s very cool for me because more than likely I will not be getting this one until next year due to the lack of cash. “Love Came Down At Christmas” is growing on me, but I’m hooked on their version of “Wonderful Christmastime”. It will probably never show up on a album, but I love this recording I have of them telling the story of Rudolph The Red-nosed Reindeer to the music of Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit”.

In addition, Relient K has a Christmas album out this year, Let It Snow… Let It Reindeer. This is a collection of new songs and songs from Deck The Halls, Bruise Your Hand, the bonus disk they released a couple of years ago. This new album gives a nod to their punk-pop roots while reminding their listeners that they are more than just that. If you liked Five Score And Seven Years, you’ll enjoy this. I have found streaming versions of Sleigh Ride online, and I just can’t play it enough.

Mindy Smith has a Christmas album out now, but I’ve not had a chance to listen to it yet.

These are the ones that stand out to me. What are you listening to?

Comments
  1. abovethecanalpolitics says:

    I’ve seen Jars of Clar in concert and Relient K twice.

    As far as Christmas music goes, I have to hear Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas” at least once a week in the Christmas season. Just sets the mood, and if it snows this weekend I’ll be listening to it even moreso.

    Nice site!

  2. My wife and I love the old school stuff. I’ve got Bing on a 45, as well as The Singing Dogs. Can’t be Christmas without Elvis!