Laurel Christmas Parade 2007

Posted: 12/12/2007 by that's Elbert in Christmas, Laurel, Laurel Delaware

Sorry for the lateness of this post. Blogs are supposed to be able to get it to you before anyone else. I’ve been tired and busy and well, that’s enough excuses. I got some pictures from the parade on December 7. We were at the beginning of the parade route in front of the middle school. I’m not very good at taking pictures, so please don’t boo & throw tomatoes at your monitor. Many floats, trucks, emergency vehicles, and civic groups.

Laurel Christmas Parade 2007

Laurel Christmas Parade 2007

Laurel Christmas Parade 2007

Laurel Christmas Parade 2007

Laurel Christmas Parade 2007

My camera batteries died near the end of the event, at least that’s my story. There were new batteries in there but the camera didn’t want to operate. Slightly frustrated? Yep.

There was a couple of disappointments with the parade besides my camera dying on me. There were many vehicles that were not decked out for the holiday. Yes, there were many without any indicator of the Christmas holiday. It would have been nice to see more floats, but floats take time, money, and creative energy that just isn’t always freely available. It would also be nice to see more marching bands. The towns surrounding Laurel usually have more than just the town’s bands marching in their respective parades. There is one remaining gripe, and it centers around a float. The float appeared to be recycled from the Independence Day parade, adding a Christmas tree to reflect the season. My gripe is maybe more of a critique of the float. I need to take this up in another post. And I will.

All this said, I like our parades and look forward to them every year. Can’t wait until July!!

More pictures are loaded at a photoalbum on Photobucket.

Comments are closed.