Well, It’s Open

Posted: 11/05/2007 by that's Elbert in community, Delaware, Laurel, Laurel Delaware, society

The Laurel Liquors store opened up for business this past Friday. This is one of the now five liquor stores in a town of 3,668 at the 2000 census. This town is also serviced by one grocery store, two pharmacies, well you get the picture. I’m not thrilled about it, but it’s there. Remember, it’s the liquor store that is within 200 feet of the Boys and Girls Club as well as the Laurel Nazarene Church. I’m not optimistic about it’s success anyway, mostly because it’s also not that far from two of the other four liquor stores. I just don’t see how Laurel keeps 4 of them open, never mind adding another to the mix.

There are two upsides to this business opening (so that you don’t think I’m all “the glass is half empty”). First, it’s one less empty business in town, despite the fact it’s not the kind of business you really want in town. Second, they cleaned up the graffiti on the building.

I wrote about this previously on this post.

Comments
  1. Howard says:

    Could it be the town whose claim to fame is it has the most traffic lights per capita in the state of Delaware will become the town with the most liquor stores per capita?

  2. swampcritter2 says:

    Just wondering Elbert (not throwing stones) are you from that school of theology that totally eschews alcohol?

  3. Swampcritter2, I’m going to reply to you in a post. I found that my comment reply looked more like a blog entry so it’ll be moved to a post. Look for it soon.

  4. […] Rescue: Alcohol I wrote the post linked here about the 5th liquor store in Laurel opening, which prompted a comment which I’d like to […]

  5. […] down in Delmar has also expressed on this blog: Could it be the town whose claim to fame is it has the most traffic lights per capita in the state […]