Bonanza Restaurants

Posted: 10/18/2007 by that's Elbert in Delaware, Delmar Blogs, Delmarva, food, Maryland, personal

I’ve got a friend that works at the Bonanza Restaurant in Delmar, DE. She was notified that the restaurant will be closing after Sunday. I don’t know how many employees that effects, but a number of people will be going to the unemployment office in Georgetown soon. Hopefully they will all find jobs quickly.

I understand that the Milford Bonanza has already closed. When I called them this evening, no one answered. I called the Millsboro Bonanza and inquired about their hours of business. The young lady that answered gave me the hours without any indication that they would be closing. I didn’t inquire further. I got the same response when I called the Pocomoke City, Maryland location. In addition, when I called the Delmar location, they gave me the hours of operation without indicating they would close. So they are not telling their customers yet.

I hope you all will offer prayers for those that have become unemployed. If you know someone effected, do more than just pray. Offer to help them.

On the web: Bonanza Restaurants on Delmarva and Bonanza & Ponderosa

Delmar Dustpan is also on the case.

Comments
  1. Howard says:

    The current rumor is one of the Koreans has returned from Korea with a suitcase full of money and they will remain open. Yesterday the Delmar bonanza was telling people they would close Sunday. I understand a number of their employees are calling in sick waiting to see what is going to happen.

  2. WGMD had a news story about Bonanza:

    http://www.wgmd.com/newspost/fullnews.php?id=5859

    This suggests that the Millsboro location is closing Sunday and Delmar may remain open.

  3. David says:

    Its official all four Delmarva locations are closed. There was little notice due to indecision by the new owners and unwillingness to pay their outstanding debts. These four stores were profitable and ran successfully by the previous owners for nearly 20 years. Its sad to see that these guys came in and ran what was a locally owned and run business into the ground with such utter disregard. Thank you to all the loyal customers and employees who made Bonanza an enjoyable place to eat and work.

  4. […] That’s Elbert With an “E” was close behind, reporting on October 18: […]

  5. […] That’s Elbert With an “E” was close behind, reporting on October 18: […]