Odd Baby Names

Posted: 08/18/2007 by that's Elbert in Fun, Just For Fun, News & Politics, opinions, Rants/Opinions

A couple in China wanted a unique name for their child. The name chose? “@” Yes, the “at” sign. The story is here and here.

Take note of this sentence:
But earlier this year the government announced a ban on names using Arabic numerals, foreign languages and symbols that do not belong to Chinese minority languages.

How would you like the government to tell you that you can’t name your child your choice of name? You could say that they were attempting to preserve their culture. I beg to differ. It is yet another means by which their government attempts to control their people. That’s a good left wing government for you, attempting to control your life right down to naming your kids.

On a sillier note, here’s another odd name for you. A gentleman that gave me my first job told me this story. On the day their son appeared in the birth announcements in the newspaper, there was another announcement for a baby named “Oops”. Poor kid. How much therapy do you think he/she had?

Comments
  1. swampcritter2 says:

    Just reading between the lines on the Oops story makes me wonder if Little Oops arrival was intended, and a surprise for Mom and Pop. I can’t help but wish the kid well. Kind of reminds me “A Boy Named Sue.”