Grits, Sweet Tea, and Southern Cooking

Posted: 07/19/2007 by that's Elbert in culture, food, Fun, Just For Fun, scrapple

I had a weird discussion with one of my fellow workers regarding grits. He loves them. I don’t care for them, although I think I gave him the impression that I hate them.

Grits went on my plate at least twice when my wife and I lived in Pensacola. We had a lot of friends from Georgia, the Carolinas, and Alabama that taught us some of their knowledge of southern cooking. All of them ate grits for breakfast. I love breakfast. It’s the best meal of the day, and I don’t think that because those health-conscience people tell you. So, I had to at least try them if for no other reason to expand my menu for breakfast. My friends said to add different things to the grits to make them tasty such as cheese or eggs (that’s all I can remember). I really wanted them to taste good; I really did! There was no love affair between this pile of white stuff on my plate and me; I just couldn’t get into them.

My lack of love for the white whatever was deepened by the fact that I had no idea what it was. I mean, what is a grit? Sand is gritty when it gets in your bathing suit at the beach. The gritty sand image didn’t help either. Mind you, for a long time I didn’t know what scrapple was either, but that did not diminish my love for the mystery “meat” (at least I think you can call it that). My “raising” had to have something to do with this because I had scrapple for as long as I can remember but couldn’t recall ever having the white whatever on my plate.

Well, maybe I’ll try them again. I wonder what they would taste like with Kirby & Holloway Scrapple.

My fellow worker did find a grits web site that was cool, grits.com. Any site with a link to Waffle House isn’t bad at all. On there I found out what grits actually are, and they really aren’t “gritty” but they are “corny.”

Grits.com has a link placed in the content area to a page about sweet tea. Yeah, now they’re talking! Is there any other tea? Unsweetened tea really doesn’t make sense. Try to dissolve sugar or Splenda or whatever in it and all you get is a snow globe. We’ve got sweet tea in the house all the time. The first time I remember getting actual sweet tea was from my mother-in-law who spent some of her early life in North Carolina. I really have to watch the sugar though.

In my humble opinion, southern cooking is the best. It’s not good for my cholesterol but it’s good in my tummy. Gotta watch all that gravy and lard. I think our area has a mash-up of food from every direction around us, so some southern eats are usually on someone’s menu.

I gotta stop all this talk about food.

Comments are closed.