The Old French’s Store Is Coming Back To Life

Posted: 06/26/2007 by that's Elbert in Delaware, Laurel

French’s grocery store was yet another thing I loved about Laurel, Delaware. It was the hometown grocery store. I’d go in there and pick up some things we’d need for home or grab some hot food for lunch, a convenience for me being that it was close to work.  Much to my disappointment, it closed up shop about a year and a half ago. I’ve noticed recently that there’s been some activity in the building.

the front of the old French’s store

Despite the sign posted attempting to sell/lease the place, I was told that a furniture store is setting up shop in there. Nice to know that something will be in there again. Good luck to them. (Sorry, got a poor picture with my phone)

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    I thought the best thing about that store was the hot foods. The chicken was mmm..mmm..good. If I didn’t take anything out for dinner, I’d ride over there and pick something up.

  2. thatselbert says:

    Chicken fingers and potato logs for lunch. My teenagers loved the potato logs.