Independence Day Celebration 2007 in Laurel

Posted: 06/18/2007 by that's Elbert in Delaware, Just For Fun, Laurel

The Independence Day Celebration in Laurel is coming up. Oh yeah! One of the things I love about this town is this very event. The details of the event are on the chamber of commerce’s web site, however I will repeat them here.

The carnival takes place July 2nd, 3rd & 4th. The armband nights are the 2nd & 3rd, so you ride all night for just $15.00. That starts at 6:00pm in the Game Zone parking lot on Central Avenue.

The parade, usually on July 4th in the AM, will be on Tuesday night, July 3rd at 7:00PM. The parade will still be traversing Central Avenue. There will be entertainment after the parade in the Janosik Park, Laureltowne, down on Front Street.

The Independence Day Celebration will be, you guessed it, on July 4th, 2007 starting at 8:00am. The Prayer Breakfast will be at 8:00am by ticket only. They will be closing Front Street from Central Avenue to Willow Street as well as Delaware Avenue from RJ’s Restaurant to Bill Jones’ Liquor Store. It will be closed all day for all the activities: entertainment, food, and craft vendors. I was told that you should bring your blankets or chairs for the entertainment because there won’t be any bleachers this year. And yes, there are still fireworks in the evening!

For my family, the best thing is that it’s still not far from home! Just a stroll around the corner puts us right there.

I will probably be out there getting pictures of the parade Tuesday night. My pictures from the 2006 parade are at this link. The Laurel High School’s Steel Drums will be playing, so I’ve got to get a picture of them considering my daughter’s boyfriend is playing.

Come one, come all! (I always wanted to say that)

Comments
  1. […] I noticed this on my way to church Sunday morning. It appears that the carnival is not at GameZone as I previously posted. It is set up at the park area next to The Insurance Mart. Based on what is set up there now, I […]