Superbowl Halftime Show

Posted: 02/08/2004 by that's Elbert in culture, Movies and TV, opinions, Rants/Opinions, TV

I’ve got to throw in my two cents on the Superbowl Halftime Show. You know, it was nothing but a freak show. I’m not known for watching football, not until my oldest son wanted to watch, but of the halftimes I’ve seen, the ONLY good one was U2 in 2002 when they did the 9/11 tribute.

U2 opened with “Beautiful Day”, which was performed with such energy, well, I could only get caught up into it. Then, they moved on to “MLK”, performed while the names of the 9/11 victims scrolled behind them. They then moved into “Where The Streets Have No Name”, which while being an old song (1987), it was fitting for the occasion, considering it was talking about Heaven. That was a memorable show, a good memory.

Now, this years’ poor excuse for a music whatever, well, that may say it all. It was a freak show. No real music. No real entertainment. Nothing meaningful. Nothing. I hope the NFL has learned their lesson and stops booking pseudo-musicians.

Comments are closed.